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1. Introduction

Kentucky has 7,792 persistent felony offenders and violent offenders. 

There are 4,098 persons sentenced as a persistent felony offender and 4,290 persons sentenced as a violent offender. Of these, 596 have been sentenced as both a persistent felony offender and as a violent offender.

The total annual corrections cost for those sentenced as a persistent felony offender, a violent offender, or both is $169,193,925.

Kentucky law should protect citizens from violent offenders and those who persistently commit felonies.  However, the problem is that Kentucky’s definitions of Persistent Felony Offender and Violent Offender have grown beyond their original purposes.  Further, the length of time a person categorized as PFO or Violent spends in prison has increased, leaving some prisoners incarcerated much longer than their criminal conduct warrants, at great cost to taxpayers, communities, families, and the individuals themselves.  For example, there are 1,441 inmates serving an average sentence of 11 years whose underlying offense was only a Class D felony.

The Department of Public Advocacy, which provides representation in 150,000 criminal cases each year, proposes a number of modest adjustments to both the Persistent Felony Offender statute and the Violent Offender statute.  These modest proposals would provide significant savings to taxpayers by responsibly reducing the prison population without endangering public safety.  In support of the proposals, this memo includes current data from the Kentucky Department of Corrections and a historical review of the development of each statute since its original inception.  As the data shows that those imprisoned under the PFO and Violent Offender statutes are, on average, older than other inmates, this memo also looks at recidivism data to demonstrate that offenders are less likely to reoffend as they age.  The historical review will show that the incentive to implement 85% parole eligibility in 1998 (federal grant funding) no longer exists and modification of that legislative decision would result in no loss of federal funding.

Modest adjustments to the persistent and violent offender provisions would not only provide savings but also recognize the significant limitations of reliably identifying those who should be incarcerated indefinitely. “Criminologists have been unable to develop practical and reliable methods to select those who will become career criminals. Attempts to incarcerate based on any predictive criteria will inevitably end up incarcerating a large number of people who do not persist in serious crime. As advocated later in the report, sentencing should not be based on what we think a person will do but rather on what they have done and in proportion to the seriousness of the crime.” The JFA Institute, Unlocking America: Why and How to Reduce America’s Prison Population (November 2007), p. 12.



2. Proposed Adjustments to Kentucky’s PFO Law (KRS 532.080)
A. Eliminate PFO enhancements for non-violent felonies. 
B. Eliminate first and second degrees, leaving PFO status to apply only to those with two or more prior felonies without any substantial break in criminal activity.  
C. Repeal 10-year parole eligibility requirement for PFO first degree.
D. Require actual imprisonment on prior felonies.
E. Prohibit all double enhancements by eliminating PFO for all offenses already enhanced by a prior conviction.

3. Proposed Adjustments to Kentucky Violent Offender Law (KRS 439.3401)
A. Reinstate 50% parole eligibility for violent offenders, as originally passed in 1986 and maintained until 1998 when Congress conditioned federal funds on passage of 85% parole eligibility. (No federal funds would now be lost by reverting to the prior law.)
B. Limit the category of violent offenders to those convicted of:
i. Murder
ii. First-Degree Rape
iii. First-Degree Sodomy
iv. First-Degree Robbery with a Firearm
v. First-Degree Burglary with a Firearm
vi. First-Degree Assault

4. Other Alternative Adjustments to the Kentucky Violent Offender Statute Include:
A) Limit 85% parole eligibility to intentional conduct resulting in death, serious physical injury, or substantial sexual contact.  Wanton murders, assaults and other non-intentional crimes resulting in death or serious injury and other violent intentional crimes not resulting in death, serious injury, or substantial sexual contact (i.e. first-degree robbery) could be reverted 50% parole eligibility rather than 85%.
B) Limit each category of crime in KRS 439.3401 to convictions “involving the death of the victim or serious physical injury to a victim.”
C) Limit violent offenses to any class A or B felony or capital offense involving the use or threatened use of physical force upon another person.
D) Graduate the parole eligibility according to the Classification of the violent offense, e.g., 75% for violent Class A convictions, 50% for violent Class B convictions, etc.  
E) Provide that violent offenders who reach a certain age, such as 65 or 70 years, except for those sentenced to life without parole or life without parole for 25 years, be parole eligible.
F) Repeal the 2006 substantial expansion of the violent offender statute, which added the following crimes to the definition:
1. Commission or attempted commission of a felony sexual offense in KRS Chapter 510; 
2. Use of a minor in a sexual performance as described in KRS 531.310; 
3. Promoting a sexual performance by a minor as described in KRS 531.320; 
4. Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree as described in KRS 530.064(1)(a); 
5. Promoting prostitution in the first degree as described in KRS 529.030(1)(b);
6. Criminal abuse in the first degree as described in KRS 508.100; 
7. Burglary in the first degree accompanied by the commission or attempted commission of an assault described in KRS 508.010, 508.020. 508.032, or 508.060; 
8. Burglary in the first degree accompanied by commission or attempted commission of kidnapping as prohibited by KRS 509.040; or 
9. Robbery in the first degree

G) Expand the KRS 439.3402 exemption to include additional significant mitigating conditions such as mental illness, mental retardation, the age of the defendant, a victim of  sexual abuse, and those in KRS 532.025:
1. The defendant has no significant history of prior criminal activity;
2. The offense was committed while the defendant was under the influence of extreme mental or emotional disturbance even though the influence of extreme mental or emotional disturbance is not sufficient to constitute a defense to the crime; 
3. The victim was a participant in the defendant's criminal conduct or consented to the criminal act; 
4. The offense was committed under circumstances which the defendant believed to provide a moral justification or extenuation for his conduct even though the circumstances which the defendant believed to provide a moral justification or extenuation for his conduct are not sufficient to constitute a defense to the crime; 
5. The defendant was an accomplice in an offense committed by another person and his participation in the offense was relatively minor; 
6. The defendant acted under duress or under the domination of another person even though the duress or the domination of another person is not sufficient to constitute a defense to the crime; 
7. At the time of the offense, the capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of his conduct to the requirements of law was impaired as a result of mental illness or retardation or intoxication even though the impairment of the capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of his conduct or to conform the conduct to the requirements of law is insufficient to constitute a defense to the crime; and 
8. The youth of the defendant at the time of the crime.

















5. Facts Regarding Persons Currently Incarcerated in KY Under KRS 532.080 and KRS 439.3401 (as of July 5th, 2011)

	
	Total
	PFO 1st
	PFO 2nd
	Total PFO
	Violent Offender
	Both PFO & Violent

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Persons Currently Incarcerated
	21,259
	1415
	2683
	4098
	4290
	596

	Daily Cost of Incarceration
	$1,264,698
	$84,178
	$159,611
	$243,789
	$255,212
	$35,456

	Persons Sentenced Each Year (avg. since 2000)
	10,136
	215
	559
	774
	365
	43

	Persons Sentenced in 2010
	11,906
	214
	601
	815
	586
	49

	Persons Sentenced in 2011*
	7,400
	97
	299
	396
	289
	13

	Average Sentence Length of all Persons Incarcerated
	13
	28
	18
	22
	23
	39

	Avg. Age of All Incarcerated
	36
	43
	38
	40
	39
	42

	Persons Over 65 years old
	274
	9
	11
	20
	143
	7

	* 2011 data from January 1, 2011 to July 5, 2011, roughly half the year

	
	
	
	
	
	
	

	Highest Current Offense Before PFO Enhancement
(Average Sentence)
	
	
	
	PFO
	Violent
	

	Class A felony
	
	
	
	233
(57 years)
	557
(40 years)
	

	Class B felony
	
	
	
	1002
(41 years)
	
	

	Class C felony
	
	
	
	1422
(17 years)
	
	

	Class D felony
	
	
	
	1441
(11 years)
	
	

	Class B felony involving death of the victim or serious physical injury to a victim
	
	
	
	
	2166
(22 years)
	

	The commission or attempted commission of a felony sexual offense in KRS Chapter 510
	
	
	
	
	1737
(21  years)
	

	Use of a minor in a sexual performance (KRS 531.310)
	
	
	
	
	48
(25 years)
	

	Promoting a sexual performance by a minor (KRS 531.320)
	
	
	
	
	12
(22 years)
	

	Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree (KRS 530.064(1)(a))
	
	
	
	
	47
(14 years)
	

	Human trafficking involving commercial sexual activity where the victim is a minor (KRS 529.100)
	
	
	
	
	0
	

	Criminal abuse in the first degree (KRS 508.100)
	
	
	
	
	93
(22 years)
	

	Burglary in the first degree accompanied by the commission or attempted commission of a assault
	
	
	
	
	142
(33 years)
	

	Burglary in the first degree accompanied by commission or attempted commission of kidnapping
	
	
	
	
	63
(46 years)
	

	Robbery in the first degree
	
	
	
	
	1275
(27 years)
	



6. Recidivism Drops Significantly with Age
Long sentences have limitations. “[O]ne of the best–established findings of criminology is that crime rates decline as individuals age. Crime is overwhelmingly the province of young males . . . This suggests that blanket policies of lengthy prison terms for serious crimes will generally be ineffective as a means of reducing crimes once offenders reach their thirties.” Richard Lippke, Crime Reduction and the Length of Prison Sentences, 24 Law & Policy 17, 23 (2002).

Modifications to the PFO and violent offender statutes can insure public safety and save money. An 85% parole eligibility, which is effectively a sentence of no parole, does not account for the fact that older inmates recidivate less. Prisoners are “less dangerous as they age,” and “more expensive to maintain.” Michael Vitiello, Reforming Three Strikes’ Excesses, 82 Wash. U.L.Q. 1, 16-17 (2004).

According to Kentucky Department of Corrections data, the average state recidivism rate (released in 2007 and returned within 24 months) for all inmates is 32%, but older inmates recidivate significantly less than younger inmates.  The recidivism rates according to age categories for Kentucky inmates released in calendar year 2007 and returned during calendar year 2009 are: 

	Age Group
	% Recidivated

	Under 21 yrs
	54%

	Age 21 – 25 yrs
	40%

	Age 26 – 30 yrs
	35%

	Age 31 – 35 yrs
	34%

	Age 36 – 40 yrs
	31%

	Age 41 – 45 yrs
	27%

	Age 46 – 50 yrs
	24%

	Age 51 – 60 yrs
	18%

	Over 60 yrs
	9%



Responsible reductions to the PFO and Violent Offender statutes would result in more prisoners being released at a time when they are not as likely to reengage in criminal activity.  Serious crimes retain serious and significant sentences.  The PFO and Violent Offender categories, which greatly increase the time to be served, are reserved for those who are truly “persistent” or “violent,” those from whom society must be protected.

7. Historical Development of Kentucky’s PFO Law (KRS 532.080)
The 1974 Penal Code required three separate convictions and two separate periods of actual imprisonment before there could be a conviction as a persistent felony offender (PFO). Two or more convictions with sentences served concurrently or consecutively were counted as one prior offense for PFO purposes. While the 1974 law allowed any felony offense to be enhanced if it met the other conditions, the other conditions provided significant parameters on the application of the PFO. The stated intent of the PFO provision in the 1974 Penal Code was:
Since the persistent felony offender classification is one designed principally for individuals who have demonstrated lack of capacity for rehabilitation, the provision as a whole contains a change of direction in sentencing objectives, i.e., from rehabilitation of individual offenders to protection of the public by incapacitation of dangerous individuals. Because of this change of direction, care must be taken to avoid a premature classification of an individual as an habitual criminal. KY Penal Code, Final Draft (LRC 1971), Commentary to § 3445 at 347 (emphasis added).

In 1976, the definition of PFO was been significantly expanded as a result of the following changes in the law, See Act of Mar. 29, 1976, ch. 180, § 283, 1976 Ky. Acts 425:
1) The definition of what constituted a prior offense was expanded to include a previous offense even if the person never served any time in prison;
2) The number of prior offenses necessary to become a PFO was reduced from 3 prior offenses to 2 prior offenses with the creation of a PFO 2d degree;
3) Elimination of the possibility for probation (except in limited circumstances where all offenses are class D offenses) and lengthening of the time for parole eligibility to 10 years

8. The Results of the Changes in PFO Law
With these 1976 changes, the following has occurred:
· The number of persons incarcerated for PFO offenses significantly increased and were imprisoned for longer periods of time
· The number of trials decreased 
· The ability to charge a person as a PFO and dismiss that count in exchange for a plea of guilty to the underlying charge results in higher lengths of imprisonment on the underlying charge than would otherwise have been attainable.

The number of PFO inmates since 1974 has increased as follows:
1980 - 79
1984 - 1,142
2004 - 4,187
2010 - 4,028
2011 - 4,098

In Kentucky, a person charged with a Class D felony who has a prior felony faces a minimum of 5 years in prison.  If that person had another felony any time in his/her life, the minimum sentence rises to 10 years for even the most minor of felonies.  As a result, offenders are held in prison for sentences disproportionate to their criminal activity.

9. How Kentucky Compares Nationally
Kentucky is out of step with the nation. Most states have repeat offender laws that have a narrower application than does Kentucky’s law. This is principally achieved by limiting repeat offender status to serious, violent offenses. “The purpose of these laws is simple: Offenders convicted repeatedly of serious offenses should be removed from society for long periods of time, in many cases for life. John Clark, James Austin, & D. Alan Henry, “Three Strikes and You’re Out”: A Review of State Legislation, National Institute of Justice, p. 1(September 1997). According to this review of states, most state three-strike laws have minimal impact on prison systems since “States have drafted these laws so they would be applied to only the most violent repeat offenders.” Id. at 13. Not so in Kentucky.

“The Kentucky version of these laws is especially draconian and problematic, because of the unusually wide net it casts and the huge contributions it has made to the incarceration explosion of the last 30 years. Like most such laws, it owes its existence to public anger, political expediency, and a lack of careful thought about long–term effects on inmates and fairness in the assignment of punishment for bad behavior. It has evolved into a truly lethal sentencing weapon without serious consideration of the possibility that its benefits might be outweighed by its very high costs and an uncertain but real threat to public safety.” Robert G. Lawson PFO Law Reform, A Crucial First Step Toward Sentencing Sanity in Kentucky, 97 U KY Law Rev 1, 9-10 (2008-2009).

10. Kentucky Criminal Justice Council 2010 PFO Recommendations
On December 1, 2010, the Kentucky Criminal Justice Council, KRS 15A.075, recommended adjustments to Kentucky’s PFO laws: 

Recommendation: Reexamine the Persistent Felony Offender Statute (PFO) and the Penalties.  Two proposals addressing the PFO statute were passed favorably.  One proposal submitted by the Commonwealth’s Attorneys Association, passed unanimously by both the Sentencing subcommittee and the Council.  The recommendation is to eliminate the ability to enhance a felony offense through one statutory provision and also charge the offender as a Persistent Felony Offender.  An election would have to be made at indictment to either proceed with the enhancement or to indict as a Persistent Felony Offender. This recommendation presents the prosecutor with an “either, or” decision.  

The other proposal regarding Kentucky’s PFO statute is to eliminate PFO 2nd Degree; remove the 10 year restriction on parole eligibility for PFO 1st Degree; a conviction enhanced by another statute shall not be used to obtain a PFO conviction; and require that the person have been subject to incarceration before PFO 1 is utilized. 

11.  Historical Development of Kentucky’s Violent Offender Law
In 1986, the violent offender statute, KRS 439.3401, was adopted. It provided for no consideration of release on parole prior to serving 50% of the sentence. It was limited to the following crimes:
1) Capital offense
2) Class A felony
3) Class B felony involving the death of the victim
4) First degree rape or sodomy or serious physical injury to the victim

In 1992, a process for exempting convicted defendants who were victims of domestic violence from the restricted parole eligibility for some crimes was added. See KRS 439.3402.

Now-Obsolete Federal Incentives Led to Change in Parole Eligibility
In 1998, Kentucky amended the violent offender law to raise parole eligibility from 50% to 85%.  Professor Lawson explained the context of the change in his law review article, Difficult Times in Kentucky Corrections – Aftershocks of a “Tough on Crime” Philosophy, 93 KY Law J 305, 358 (2004- 2005):

[bookmark: FNRF239305144643][bookmark: FNRF240305144643][bookmark: FNRF241305144643]In 1984, Congress abandoned rehabilitation of offenders as a significant goal of punishment, eliminated indeterminate sentencing, and abandoned the idea of release on parole in the federal system. In 1994, it pushed states in the same direction by providing billions of federal dollars for construction of prisons on the condition that recipients require violent offenders to serve no less than eighty-five percent of their sentences of imprisonment (without credit for good time served).  In 1998, influenced by this law, the Kentucky General Assembly added to the state's parole laws a provision providing that ‘a violent offender shall not be released on probation or parole until he has served at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the sentence imposed.’ It defined ‘violent offender’ to include all persons committing capital offenses, class A felonies, class B felonies that involve death or serious physical injury to a victim, and the crimes of rape and sodomy in the first degree.

The federal incentive to have parole eligibility at 85% or higher no longer exists. The federal funding referenced by Professor Lawson was under the Violent Offender Incarceration and Truth in Sentencing Incentive (VOI/TIS) Grants http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/BJA/grant/voitis.html. According to the linked website, “The VOI/TIS Program is not funded in FY 2004, and no further awards are anticipated under this program.”  Thus, no federal funding would be lost by any change to the violent offender statute, KRS 439.3401; 439.3402.

In 2000, release on parole under KRS 439.3401 was further restricted for those serving life sentences with a requirement that at least 20 years in prison must be served before being eligible for parole consideration. Due to the 85% parole eligibility requirement, a sentence of 22.5 years was no different than a life sentence for parole eligibility purposes.

In 2006, the crimes eligible for violent offender treatment were expanded to include: 
(d) Commission or attempted commission of a felony sexual offense in KRS Chapter 510; 
(e) Use of a minor in a sexual performance as described in KRS 531.310; 
(f) Promoting a sexual performance by a minor as described in KRS 531.320; 
(g) Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree as described in KRS 530.064(1)(a); 
(h) Promoting prostitution in the first degree as described in KRS 529.030(1)(b); 
(i) Criminal abuse in the first degree as described in KRS 508.100; 
(j) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by the commission or attempted commission of an assault described in KRS 508.010, 508.020. 508.032, or 508.060; 
(k) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by commission or attempted commission of kidnapping as prohibited by KRS 509.040; or 
(l) Robbery in the first degree

In 2007, subsection (h) was changed from promoting prostitution in the first degree as described in KRS 508.060 to human trafficking involving commercial sexual activity where the victim is a minor.

12. The Current Statutes

532.080 Persistent felony offender sentencing. 
(1) When a defendant is found to be a persistent felony offender, the jury, in lieu of the sentence of imprisonment assessed under KRS 532.060 for the crime of which such person presently stands convicted, shall fix a sentence of imprisonment as authorized by subsection (5) or (6) of this section. When a defendant is charged with being a persistent felony offender, the determination of whether or not he is such an offender and the punishment to be imposed pursuant to subsection (5) or (6) of this section shall be determined in a separate proceeding from that proceeding which resulted in his last conviction. Such proceeding shall be conducted before the court sitting with the jury that found the defendant guilty of his most recent offense unless the court for good cause discharges that jury and impanels a new jury for that purpose. 

(2) A persistent felony offender in the second degree is a person who is more than twenty-one (21) years of age and who stands convicted of a felony after having been convicted of one (1) previous felony. As used in this provision, a previous felony conviction is a conviction of a felony in this state or conviction of a crime in any other jurisdiction provided: 
(a) That a sentence to a term of imprisonment of one (1) year or more or a sentence to death was imposed therefor; and 
(b) That the offender was over the age of eighteen (18) years at the time the offense was committed; and 
(c) That the offender: 
1. Completed service of the sentence imposed on the previous felony conviction within five (5) years prior to the date of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
2. Was on probation, parole, postincarceration supervision, conditional discharge, conditional release, furlough, appeal bond, or any other form of legal release from any of the previous felony convictions at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
3. Was discharged from probation, parole, postincarceration supervision, conditional discharge, conditional release, or any other form of legal release on any of the previous felony convictions within five (5) years prior to the date of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
4. Was in custody from the previous felony conviction at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
5. Had escaped from custody while serving any of the previous felony convictions at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted. 

(3) A persistent felony offender in the first degree is a person who is more than twenty-one (21) years of age and who stands convicted of a felony after having been convicted of two (2) or more felonies, or one (1) or more felony sex crimes against a minor as defined in KRS 17.500, and now stands convicted of any one (1) or more felonies. As used in this provision, a previous felony conviction is a conviction of a felony in this state or conviction of a crime in any other jurisdiction provided: 
(a) That a sentence to a term of imprisonment of one (1) year or more or a sentence to death was imposed therefor; and 
(b) That the offender was over the age of eighteen (18) years at the time the offense was committed; and 
(c) That the offender: 
1. Completed service of the sentence imposed on any of the previous felony convictions within five (5) years prior to the date of the commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
2. Was on probation, parole, postincarceration supervision, conditional discharge, conditional release, furlough, appeal bond, or any other form of legal release from any of the previous felony convictions at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
3. Was discharged from probation, parole, postincarceration supervision, conditional discharge, conditional release, or any other form of legal release on any of the previous felony convictions within five (5) years prior to the date of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
4. Was in custody from the previous felony conviction at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted; or 
5. Had escaped from custody while serving any of the previous felony convictions at the time of commission of the felony for which he now stands convicted. 

(4) For the purpose of determining whether a person has two (2) or more previous felony convictions, two (2) or more convictions of crime for which that person served concurrent or uninterrupted consecutive terms of imprisonment shall be deemed to be only one (1) conviction, unless one (1) of the convictions was for an offense committed while that person was imprisoned. 

(5) A person who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the second degree shall be sentenced to an indeterminate term of imprisonment pursuant to the sentencing provisions of KRS 532.060(2) for the next highest degree than the offense for which convicted. A person who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the second degree shall not be eligible for probation, shock probation, or conditional discharge, unless all offenses for which the person stands convicted are Class D felony offenses which do not involve a violent act against a person, in which case probation, shock probation, or conditional discharge may be granted. A violent offender who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the second degree shall not be eligible for parole except as provided in KRS 439.3401. 

(6) A person who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the first degree shall be sentenced to imprisonment as follows: 
(a) If the offense for which he presently stands convicted is a Class A or Class B felony, or if the person was previously convicted of one (1) or more sex 
crimes committed against a minor as defined in KRS 17.500 and presently stands convicted of a subsequent sex crime, a persistent felony offender in the first degree shall be sentenced to an indeterminate term of imprisonment, the maximum of which shall not be less than twenty (20) years nor more than fifty (50) years, or life imprisonment, or life imprisonment without parole for twenty-five (25) years for a sex crime committed against a minor; 
(b) If the offense for which he presently stands convicted is a Class C or Class D felony, a persistent felony offender in the first degree shall be sentenced to an indeterminate term of imprisonment, the maximum of which shall not be less than ten (10) years nor more than twenty (20) years. 
(7) A person who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the first degree shall not be eligible for probation, shock probation, or conditional discharge, unless all offenses for which the person stands convicted are Class D felony offenses which do not involve a violent act against a person or a sex crime as that term is defined in KRS 17.500, in which case, probation, shock probation, or conditional discharge may be granted. If the offense the person presently stands convicted of is a Class A, B, or C felony, the person shall not be eligible for parole until the person has served a minimum term of incarceration of not less than ten (10) years, unless another sentencing scheme applies. A violent offender who is found to be a persistent felony offender in the first degree shall not be eligible for parole except as provided in KRS 439.3401. 

(8) (a) No conviction, plea of guilty, or Alford plea to a violation of KRS 218A.500 shall bring a defendant within the purview of or be used as a conviction eligible for making a person a persistent felony offender under this section. 
(b) A conviction, plea of guilty, or Alford plea under KRS 218A.1415 shall not trigger the application of this section, regardless of the number or type of prior felony convictions that may have been entered against the defendant. A conviction, plea of guilty, or Alford plea under KRS 218A.1415 may be used as a prior felony offense allowing this section to be applied if he or she is subsequently convicted of a different felony offense. 

(9) The provisions of this section amended by 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 396, sec. 11, shall be retroactive. 

(10) (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, this section shall not apply to a person convicted of a criminal offense if the penalty for that offense was increased from a misdemeanor to a felony, or from a lower felony classification to a higher felony classification, because the conviction constituted a second or subsequent violation of that offense. 
(b) This subsection shall not prohibit the application of this section to a person convicted of: 
1. A felony offense arising out of KRS 189A.010, 189A.090, 506.140, 508.032, 508.140, or 510.015; or 
2. Any other felony offense if the penalty was not enhanced to a higher level because the Commonwealth elected to prosecute the person as a first-time violator of that offense. 

Effective: June 8, 2011 
History: Amended 2011 Ky. Acts ch. 2, sec. 26, effective June 8, 2011. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 182, sec. 45, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 606, sec. 76, effective July 15, 1998. -- Amended 1996 Ky. Acts ch. 247, sec. 1, effective April 4, 1996. -- Amended 1994 Ky. Acts ch. 396, sec. 11, effective July 15, 1994. -- Amended 1982 Ky. Acts ch. 241, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1982. -- Amended 1978 Ky. Acts ch. 78, sec. 6, effective June 17, 1978. -- Amended 1976 (1st Extra. Sess.) Ky. Acts ch. 14, sec. 474, effective January 2, 1978. -- Amended 1976 Ky. Acts ch. 180, sec. 1, effective June 19, 1976. -- Created 1974 Ky. Acts ch. 406, sec. 280, effective January 1, 1975.

439.3401 Parole for violent offenders -- Applicability of section to victim of domestic violence or abuse -- Time of offense -- Prohibition against award of credit. 

(1) As used in this section, "violent offender" means any person who has been convicted of or pled guilty to the commission of: 
(a) A capital offense; 
(b) A Class A felony; 
(c) A Class B felony involving the death of the victim or serious physical injury to a victim; 
(d) The commission or attempted commission of a felony sexual offense described in KRS Chapter 510; 
(e) Use of a minor in a sexual performance as described in KRS 531.310; 
(f) Promoting a sexual performance by a minor as described in KRS 531.320; 
(g) Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree as described in KRS 530.064(1)(a); 
(h) Human trafficking under KRS 529.100 involving commercial sexual activity where the victim is a minor; 
(i) Criminal abuse in the first degree as described in KRS 508.100; 
(j) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by the commission or attempted commission of an assault described in KRS 508.010, 508.020, 508.032, or 508.060; 
(k) Burglary in the first degree accompanied by commission or attempted commission of kidnapping as prohibited by KRS 509.040; or 
(l) Robbery in the first degree. 
The court shall designate in its judgment if the victim suffered death or serious physical injury. 

(2) A violent offender who has been convicted of a capital offense and who has received a life sentence (and has not been sentenced to twenty-five (25) years without parole or imprisonment for life without benefit of probation or parole), or a Class A felony and receives a life sentence, or to death and his sentence is commuted to a life sentence shall not be released on probation or parole until he has served at least twenty (20) years in the penitentiary. Violent offenders may have a greater minimum parole eligibility date than other offenders who receive longer sentences, including a sentence of life imprisonment. 

(3) A violent offender who has been convicted of a capital offense or Class A felony with a sentence of a term of years or Class B felony who is a violent offender shall not be released on probation or parole until he has served at least eighty-five percent (85%) of the sentence imposed. 

(4) A violent offender shall not be awarded any credit on his sentence authorized by KRS 197.045(1)(b)1. In no event shall a violent offender be given credit on his sentence if the credit reduces the term of imprisonment to less than eighty-five percent (85%) of the sentence. 

(5) This section shall not apply to a person who has been determined by a court to have been a victim of domestic violence or abuse pursuant to KRS 533.060 with regard to the offenses involving the death of the victim or serious physical injury to the victim. The provisions of this subsection shall not extend to rape in the first degree or sodomy in the first degree by the defendant. 

(6) This section shall apply only to those persons who commit offenses after July 15, 1998. 

(7) For offenses committed prior to July 15, 1998, the version of this statute in effect immediately prior to that date shall continue to apply. 

(8) The provisions of subsection (1) of this section extending the definition of "violent offender" to persons convicted of or pleading guilty to robbery in the first degree shall apply only to persons whose crime was committed after July 15, 2002. 

Effective: June 8, 2011 
History: Amended 2011 Ky. Acts ch. 2, sec. 99, effective June 8, 2011. -- Amended 2007 Ky. Acts ch. 19, sec. 11, effective June 26, 2007. -- Amended 2006 Ky. Acts ch. 182, sec. 27, effective July 12, 2006. -- Amended 2002 Ky. Acts ch. 120, sec. 2, effective July 15, 2002. -- Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 401, sec. 3, effective July 14, 2000. -- Amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 606, sec. 77, effective July 15, 1998. -- Amended 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 173, sec. 4, effective July 14, 1992. -- Amended 1991 (1st Extra. Sess.) Ky. Acts ch. 3, sec. 1, effective February 15, 1991. -- Created 1986 Ky. Acts ch. 358, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1986.

439.3402 Exemption from KRS 439.3401 for victims of domestic violence and abuse -- Procedures -- Effect. 
(1) Any violent offender as defined in KRS 439.3401 who was convicted prior to July 14, 1992, who claims to come within the definitions of KRS 503.050 and 533.060 and the purview of this section as the victim of domestic violence and abuse may be exempt from KRS 439.3401 under the conditions set forth in this section. 

(2)(a) The offender shall file a motion in the Circuit Court in which the offender was convicted stating the facts which qualify the offender for exemption under this section. 
(b) The motion shall state whether the offender requests an evidentiary hearing, or whether the offender relies on the record of evidence already on file with the Circuit Court. 
(c) If the offender requests an evidentiary hearing the motion shall state what witnesses the offender wishes to testify and a brief summary of each witness' expected testimony. 
(d) The motion shall state whether the offender wishes the court to appoint counsel to represent the offender or what attorney, if any, will represent the offender at the hearing. The appointment of counsel by the court shall be made in conformity with the provisions of KRS Chapter 31. 

(3) (a) The Commonwealth shall respond to the motion within twenty (20) days after the motion was filed. 
(b) If the Commonwealth requests an evidentiary hearing and the offender did not, the Commonwealth's response shall state what witnesses and evidence the Commonwealth intends to introduce. 
(c) The Commonwealth may stipulate to the offender's evidence stated in the motion in lieu of the evidentiary hearing. 

(4) The Circuit Court shall hold any evidentiary hearing within thirty (30) days after the Commonwealth's response was filed, or if the Commonwealth did not respond, within sixty (60) days. 

(5) The Circuit Court shall issue findings of fact and an order ruling upon the motion within thirty (30) days after the evidentiary hearing, or if no hearing was held, within sixty (60) days after the Commonwealth's response was filed or due to be filed. 

(6) The order of the Circuit Court may be appealed in the manner as authorized for judgments in criminal cases. 

(7) Only one (1) motion under this section may be filed by the same offender regarding the same conviction. 

(8) The effect of granting a motion under this section is to remove the status as a violent offender for the offense for which the motion was filed and permit the offender to be eligible for parole in the manner specified in KRS 439.340. 

Effective: July 14, 1992 
History: Created 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 173, sec. 5, effective July 14, 1992.
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