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This packet broadly details how a pro se litigant can challenge his state conviction in federal court.  This packet is not a substitute for more detailed information or study of this subject.  Attached at the end of this packet are the forms necessary to file in either the Western or Eastern District Courts of Kentucky.  There is a $5 filing fee.  If, however, you want to ask the court for indigent status, the forms for asking for waiver of the fee are attached also.

This packet does not contain instructions or forms on obtaining discovery or for requesting an evidentiary hearing.  These are separate pleadings for which there are not specific forms.  There is also not a specific form for requesting an attorney to help you with your 2254 action.  You will need to prepare these pleadings on your own.  The Western District has a blank motion form that you can request.

There are several considerations to know about federal habeas corpus 2254 actions.

Statute of Limitations

At the onset the most important thing to know is that there is a one year statute of limitations on these actions.  The clock starts running when your conviction becomes final on direct review.  In a guilty plea case, this happens at final sentencing.  In a trial case, this usually happens 90 days after the Kentucky Supreme Court either denies your appeal or denies discretionary review from an opinion from the Court of Appeals.  However, if you filed a timely certiorari petition with the United States Supreme Court, your clock does not start running until that court either denies your petition or renders an opinion on your case.  Note: the 20 day period for rehearing after a decision by the Kentucky Supreme Court should not be counted – the 90 days runs from when the Kentucky Supreme Court rendered its opinion.

The one year clock also stops running when you are in state post-conviction.  Normally, you stop the clock when you file you 11.42.  The clock stays stopped during appeal, however, it does not stop for the 90 day period after you are denied on appeal or for certiorari at the United States Supreme Court.  Multiple state post-convictions actions can stop your clock.  However, be cautioned.  If the state courts find that you filed an improper action, your federal clock could have been running without you even knowing it.

There are some exceptions to the one-year filing deadline.  However, these are rarely applied by the federal courts.

Exhaustion

The next thing to know about federal habeas is that you must have exhausted you claims in state court.  There are some exceptions to this, but what you should always by striving to do is to give the state court an opportunity to rule on your claims first.

It is also important to present your claims in state court under federal constitutional principles as determined by the United States Supreme Court.  Federal habeas corpus is not for correcting state law errors or even for correcting errors of a federal constitutional magnitude as determined by the lower federal courts.  2254 is only for errors identified as such by actual decisions from the United States Supreme Court.  Thus, it is best to put in all your pleadings (both state and federal court) the United States Supreme Court precedent that governs your case.

Compliance with State Procedure

You can lose a claim in federal court if you failed to follow the rules for filing that claim in state court.  This is a very complicated aspect of federal habeas corpus law, so the best path is to make sure you follow the state rules.

What to Do and What to Expect

The following section is what the Federal District Court for the Western District of Kentucky states in its 2254 filing guide.  This also applies to an action in the Eastern District Court.
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HABEAS ACTIONS UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254

If you are in jail or otherwise “in custody” as a result of a conviction in a state court, you may ask the federal district court to set aside your state court conviction if it violated the Constitution or laws of the United States. This challenge is brought as a petition for writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. You should exhaust your claims in state court before filing a § 2254 petition. You should state all your claims in your petition. If you previously filed a motion under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 challenging the same judgment, which was dismissed or denied with prejudice, you will need to seek permission from the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals before filing another § 2254 action in this Court. See 28 U.S.C. § 2244(b)(3) and (4).

This Court has a form for filing a habeas corpus petition under § 2254. Your institution may have a copy of this form or you may request one from the Clerk’s Office. The Court’s form has a detailed set of instructions explaining how to fill it out. Those instructions will not be repeated here. Local Rule 5.2(a) requires pro se litigants to use the Court’s form. Failure to use the proper form after having been requested to do so by the Court, could result in the dismissal of your petition.

The fee for filing a habeas petition under § 2254 is $5.00. Your petition should be accompanied by either the fee or a fully completed prisoner application to proceed without prepayment of the fee.

Actions under § 2254 are governed by the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts and the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, to the extent that they are not inconsistent with the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases or any statutory provisions.

What happens after my 28 U.S.C. § 2254 petition has been filed?

1. You will receive a case number.

Your case will be assigned a civil action number. After you receive your case number, you should put it on all documents you send to the Court that relate to your action. Do not presume that the Clerk of Court will know what action you want your papers filed in. It is your responsibility to put your case number on your filings.

2. The Clerk of Court will review your petition for any deficiencies.

The Clerk of Court will review your petition to make sure you have properly submitted it to the Court. For example, the Clerk of Court will make sure you filed an original, signed petition, that you paid the filing fee or filed a prisoner application to proceed without prepayment of fees, and that your petition has been filed on a court-approved form. If your petition was not properly submitted, you may receive a “deficiency notice” from the Clerk’s Office. The notice will tell you if there was something wrong with your filing and provide you with a period of time to correct the deficiency. Failure to respond to a deficiency notice from the Clerk’s Office could lead to dismissal of your petition.

3. If you are seeking permission to proceed without prepayment of fees, the Court will rule on your application.

If the Court grants your application, you do not owe anything for the filing fee. If the Court denies your application, you will be provided with a period of time to pay the filing fee. Failure to pay the $5.00 filing fee in the time provided by the Court could result in dismissal of your action.

4. The Court must conduct a preliminary review of your petition.

Under Rule 4 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts, after a habeas petition has been filed, “the Judge must promptly examine it. If it plainly appears from the petition and any attached exhibits that the petitioner is not entitled to relief in the district court, the Judge must dismiss the petition and direct the Clerk to notify the petitioner.”

5. If the Court does not dismiss your petition on preliminary review, it will direct that it be served.

If the petition is not dismissed, the Judge will enter an order directing that the petition be served on the respondent and the Attorney General for the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The order will set out a time period for the respondent to answer and will provide another period for you to file a reply. Under Rule 5 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts, “[t]he answer must address the allegations in the petition. In addition, it must state whether any claim in the petition is barred by failure to exhaust state remedies, a procedural
bar, non-retroactivity, or a statute of limitations.”

6. Discovery is not automatic.

Leave of court is required for a party to take discovery in a § 2254 action. A party requesting discovery must provide the reasons for the request and identify the discovery sought. If necessary for effective discovery, the Judge must appoint an attorney for a petitioner who qualifies to have counsel appointed under 18 U.S.C. § 3006A.  See Rule 6 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts.

7. The Court may expand the record.

If the petition is not dismissed, the Judge may direct the parties to expand the record by submitting additional materials relating to the petition. The materials that may be required include letters predating the filing of the petition, documents, exhibits, and answers under oath to written interrogatories propounded by the Judge. Affidavits may also be submitted and considered as part of the record. The Judge must give the party against whom the additional materials are offered an opportunity to admit or deny their correctness. See Rule 7 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts.

8. The Court will decide whether to hold an evidentiary hearing.

If the petition is not dismissed, the Judge must review the answer, any transcripts and records of state-court proceedings, and any materials submitted under Rule 7 to determine whether an evidentiary hearing is warranted. See Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts.

9. If an evidentiary hearing is granted, the Court must appoint an attorney to represent a qualified petitioner.

If an evidentiary hearing is warranted, the Judge must appoint an attorney to represent a petitioner who qualifies under 18 U.C.S. § 3006A.   See Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts.

10. The hearing must take place as soon as practicable.

The Judge must conduct the hearing as soon as practicable after giving the attorneys adequate time to investigate and prepare. Rule 8 of the Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the United States District Courts.

11. The matter may be referred to a Magistrate Judge.

A Judge may, under 28 U.S.C. § 636(b), refer the petition to a Magistrate Judge to conduct hearings and to file proposed findings of fact and recommendations for disposition. When they are filed, the Clerk must promptly serve copies of the proposed findings and recommendations on all parties. Within 14 days after being served, a party may file objections. The Judge must determine de novo any proposed finding or recommendation to which objection is made. The Judge may accept, reject, or modify any proposed finding or recommendation.

12. The Judge will issue a final decision granting or denying relief.

If the district court enters a decision adverse to the petitioner, it must issue or deny a certificate of appealability. If the Court issues a certificate, the Court must state the specific issue or issues that meet the showing required by 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2).

13. Appeal

If the Court denies you a certificate of appealability, you may not appeal the denial but may seek a certificate from the court of appeals under Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 22. Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure (4)(a) governs appeal. You have thirty days (or sixty days if the case involves a party who is the United States, a federal agency or federal employee) from the date that the final order or judgment was entered on the docket to file a Notice of Appeal. A timely notice of appeal must be filed even if the district court issues a certificate of appealability. The fee to file an appeal is $455.00. You must either pay the fee or submit a prisoner application to proceed without prepayment of the fee.





Addresses

WESTERN DISTRICT

Clerk’s Office
601 W. Broadway, Rm 106
Gene Snyder United States Courthouse
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: (502) 625-3500

EASTERN DISTRICT
Leslie G. Whitmer, Clerk 
P.O. Drawer 3074 
Lexington, KY 40588-3074 
Phone: (859) 233-2503 
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